Joint Statement on need for tough National Integrity Commission

I have joined with 11 other independent candidates today to call for immediate action on the allegations of misuse of public funds relating to the 2017 purchase of water rights by the Federal Government from Eastern Australia Irrigation.

These so-called ‘Watergate’ allegations of misuse of public funds clearly demonstrate the need for the urgent adoption of a comprehensive National Integrity Commission with retrospective powers.

One of the overriding issues that has caused us all to stand in this Federal election is the need for integrity and good governance; something we feel has been lacking in recent years

The new Parliament elected on 18 May must have at the top of its agenda the creation of a National Integrity Commission to restore public confidence that questionable transactions that may involve corruption or conflict of interests of members of Parliament should be investigated.   

However, this investigation into water buy-backs cannot wait until after the election. The Australian people deserve an immediate and detailed explanation about this transaction.

The signatories to this release call on the Prime Minister and all relevant Coalition politicians to face the media and explain, at length, their personal roles in the $80 million water buy-back from Eastern Australia Irrigation, a company domiciled in the Cayman Islands.

The signatories to this release also commit, if elected, to fight to have a comprehensive National Integrity Commission, with retrospective powers, introduced as quickly as possible.


Jeremy Miller, Independent for Lyne. 

Adam Blakester, Independent for New England. 

Father Rod Bower, Independent for the Senate in NSW. 

Huw Kingston, Independent for Hume. 

Dr Andy Lewis, Independent for the Senate in Queensland. 

Rob Oakeshott, Independent for Cowper. 

Anthony Pesec, Independent for the Senate in the ACT.

Dr Kerryn Phelps, Independent for Wentworth.

Zali Steggall, Independent for Warringah. 

Alice Thompson, Independent for Mackellar. 

Paul Wittwer, Independent for the Senate in Victoria. 

Oliver Yates, Independent for Kooyong. 

Showing 3 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Louise Young
    commented 2019-04-26 11:37:45 +1000
    I support this 100%. Our water is precious, and will be increasingly so.
  • Louise Young
    followed this page 2019-04-26 11:28:24 +1000
  • Jeremy Miller
    published this page in News 2019-04-22 12:44:47 +1000